Peru's President: We wait for Pacific Alliance leaders with open arms

Photo: ANDINA/Presidency of the Republic of Peru

Photo: ANDINA/Presidency of the Republic of Peru

13:15 | Lima, Nov. 22.

The President of the Republic Pedro Castillo on Tuesday affirmed that Peru waits for the leaders of Mexico, Chile, and Colombia (Pacific Alliance members) with open arms, in order to complete the transfer of said bloc's Pro-Tempore Presidency.

"Brother AMLO (Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador), we wait for you with open arms, (meaning) this government and its people. We also welcome the other brothers from the Pacific Alliance," Mr. Castillo expressed during a meeting with representatives of the National Assembly of the Peoples of Peru at the Lima-based Government Palace. 

The Head of State said the responsibility of leading the bloc transparently will be assumed. Similarly, the top official called on leaders to continue with the frontal fight against corruption.

"For Peru, assuming the Pacific Alliance's Pro-Tempore Presidency is not only a challenge but also a commitment to boost people's progress, which will help the country grow for everyone's benefit. To all members of this space, (we say) we are ready to welcome you," he added via Twitter.

This morning, Mexican President Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador (AMLO) confirmed that the XVII Summit of the Pacific Alliance will not be held in his country due to the absence of his Peruvian counterpart, to whom he must transfer the bloc's Pro-Tempore Presidency.

Yet he pointed out that member countries will be consulted on the possibility of holding the meeting in Peru during the first week of December.

"We are working on that; it is likely that we travel to hold the meeting there (in Peru) in December, during the first week of December," Mr. Lopez Obrador said during a press conference earlier today.

"Now that (Colombian President) Gustavo Petro and (Chilean) President (Gabriel) Boric —who are Pacific Alliance members— come (to Mexico), we are going to address this issue," he added.

Pacific Alliance

The Pacific Alliance constitutes a regional integration mechanism made up of Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru, through which it seeks to progressively advance towards the free circulation of goods, services, capital, and people.

This is part of a strategy to become a platform for projection to the world, with emphasis on the Asia-Pacific region.


Publicado: 22/11/2022