Peru: State of emergency and localized quarantine extension thru Aug 31 made official

15:10 | Lima, Jul. 31.

The Executive Branch issued a supreme decree extending the state of national emergency and localized quarantine in some regions throughout the country until August 31 this year.

Published in El Peruano official gazette, the decree provides that —during the state of emergency— the exercise of constitutional rights relating to personal freedom and security, the inviolability of homes, and the freedom of assembly, as well as transit across the national territory, are restricted.

In addition, the Government decreed mandatory social isolation (localized quarantine) in Arequipa, Ica, Junin, Huanuco and San Martin regions, as well as in provinces of Tambopata (Madre de Dios region), Santa, Casma and Huaraz (Ancash region).

Likewise, the quarantine measure shall be implemented in the provinces of Nieto and Ilo (Moquegua region), Tacna (Tacna region), Cusco and La Convencion (Cusco region), as well as San Roman and Puno (Puno region).

Other provinces where mandatory social isolation will be in place include Huancavelica (Huancavelica region), Cajamarca, Jaen and San Ignacio (Cajamarca region), Bagua, Condorcanqui and Utcubamba (Amazonas region), as well as Abancay and Andahuaylas (Apurimac region).

In those places, residents are allowed to leave their homes only to provide or have access to essential services and goods and to carry out authorized economic activities.

According to the decree, compulsory social immobilization will be in force from 10:00 p.m. to 4:00 a.m. Mondays thru Sundays nationwide, except in Arequipa, Ica, Junin, Huanuco, San Martin and all the above-mentioned provinces, which will be under localized quarantine.

In said jurisdictions, compulsory social immobilization will run from 8:00 p.m. to 4:00 a.m. Mondays thru Saturdays and will be in force all day on Sundays.

The supreme decree was signed by President Martin Vizcarra, Prime Minister Pedro Cateriano and State ministers.


Publicado: 31/7/2020