Peru: Lima Group will not recognize Venezuelan Maduro's regime legitimacy

14:26 | Lima, Jan. 3.

The Lima Group nations' Foreign Affairs Ministers and representatives on Friday announced they will not recognize the legitimacy of Nicolas Maduro's new government in Venezuela.

The members held a meeting to agree on their stance and adopt measures on his new presidential term, scheduled to start on January 10.

Within this framework, they requested Maduro not to assume the presidency and to transfer the Executive Power to the National Assembly until new and democratic elections are held.

They also addressed the economic and humanitarian crisis in the said country caused by the breakdown of democratic order

Likewise, the delegates expressed their deep concern about the massive exodus of Venezuelan citizens and informed they will reassess their diplomatic relations with the Bolivarian nation. 

Furthermore, they agreed to ban the Venezuelan regime's high-ranking officials from entering their territories, as well as to establish financial sanctions for natural and legal persons linked to the Maduro administration. 

Friday's declaration was approved by Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Chile, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and Saint Lucia.

The meeting took place at Torre Tagle Palace, where the Ministry of Foreign Affairs has its seat.

In May 2018, the Lima Group refused to recognize the legitimacy of Venezuelan elections as they failed to meet international standards of a democratic, free, fair, and transparent process. 

Established in August 2017 to discuss the Venezuelan crisis, Lima Group was created by Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, and Peru. Guyana and Saint Lucia joined the bloc later on.


Published: 1/4/2019