Peru: Gov't declares state of emergency in four regions after 7.5M quake

09:37 | Lima, Nov. 30.

The President of the Republic Pedro Castillo has announced a state of emergency in the regions of Amazonas, Cajamarca, Loreto, and San Martin after the 7.5 magnitude quake that shook several regions.

In a televised Address to the Nation on Monday evening, the Head of State talked about the critical moments experienced by locals in said regions, noting that his Government is focused on assisting the affected population.

"My Government is focused on assisting the affected population in these critical moments that we and our brothers in northeastern regions are experiencing," Mr. Castillo said in his message.

"For this reason, I announce to the country that I have ordered the declaration of a state of emergency in the regions of Amazonas, Cajamarca, Loreto and San Martin," he stated.

In this regard, the country's top official mentioned that he has led actions in the same field from the outset.

"I assure you that we will not rest until decent living conditions of the entire affected population —the ones that all Peruvians deserve— are restored," he stressed.

The President concluded his message by affirming that he will continue to work on the Government's major priorities, such as the massive use of natural gas for all Peruvians, the renegotiation of contracts that are considered harmful to the State, and the collection of historical debts.

"Defending the homeland will always be our main reason for being here. Long live Peru!" he remarked.

As is known, a strong quake of magnitude 7.5 struck the northern region of Amazonas early on Sunday, as reported by the seismological center of the Geophysical Institute of Peru (IGP).

The seismic event occurred at 05:52 a.m. (local time) at a depth of 131 km and its epicenter was located 98 km east of the town of Santa Maria de Nieva, in Nieva district (Condorcanqui province), near the border with Ecuador.

In addition, due to its large magnitude, it was also felt in Peruvian capital Lima and various cities across the country.


Publicado: 30/11/2021