Peru: Mandatory 14-day quarantine for all international arrivals starting today



09:58 | Lima, Jan. 4.

Starting today, January 4, all travelers arriving in the country —whether Peruvians or foreigners— must undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine in order to prevent the spread of new COVID-19 variants, the Ministry of Health (Minsa) has reported.

The Supreme Decree Nº 207-2020-PCM, published in the Official Gazette El Peruano, indicates that the measure will be in force starting January 4 —for all Peruvians and foreigners residing in Peru, as well as for visiting foreigners arriving via international transportation means.

All visitors will have to comply with the quarantine either at home, the Lima-based Pan American Village, any other temporary isolation center, or in a lodging facility, following coordination with the health authority.

The 14 days will be counted from the same day of arrival in the national territory.

Every traveler —without exception and regardless of the country of origin— must be quarantined.

The regulation states that new variants of the SARS-CoV-2 virus have appeared in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Denmark, Sweden, the Netherlands, Norway, Iceland, Finland, Belgium, Italy, Germany, Switzerland, France, Spain, and India.

These variants were also found in Pakistan, the United Arab Emirates, Japan, Korea, Singapore, Lebanon, Jordan, Israel, Australia, Canada, the United States of America, Chile; as well as other new variants in South Africa and Nigeria.

The Supreme Decree was signed by the President of the Republic Francisco Sagasti, Prime Minister Violeta Bermudez, as well as Ministers Pilar Mazzetti (Health) and Jose Elice (Interior).


Published: 1/4/2021
Most read