Government provides mandatory 14-day quarantine for travelers arriving in Peru

Photo: Ministry of Transport and Communications of Peru

Photo: Ministry of Transport and Communications of Peru

13:57 | Lima, Jan. 1.

The Government of Peru has established 14 days of mandatory quarantine for all citizens —whether Peruvian or foreign— entering the country, in order to prevent the spread of new COVID-19 variants.

The Supreme Decree Nº 207-2020-PCM, published in the Official Gazette El Peruano, indicates that the measure will be in force starting January 4 —for all Peruvians and foreigners residing in Peru, as well as for visiting foreigners arriving via international transportation means.

All visitors will have to comply with the quarantine either at home, the Lima-based Pan American Village, other temporary isolation center, or in a lodging facility, following coordination with the health authority.

The 14 days will be counted from the same day of arrival in the national territory.

Every traveler —without exception and regardless of the country of origin— must be quarantined.

Antigen test

Likewise, the regulation provides that —from January 1 to 3, 2021— the antigen test to detect COVID-19 must be conducted on those who arrive in Peru from countries where the new variants of the SARS-CoV-2 virus have been identified.

These tests will be conducted on the same day of arrival in the national territory. Those who come from a different nation will be randomly tested.

In the event that someone tests positive, he/she will enter mandatory isolation for 14 days, which will be fulfilled at the Pan American Village or another temporary isolation center.

The regulation states that new variants of the SARS-CoV-2 virus have appeared in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Denmark, Sweden, the Netherlands, Norway, Iceland, Finland, Belgium, Italy, Germany, Switzerland, France, Spain, and India.

These variants were also found in Pakistan, the United Arab Emirates, Japan, Korea, Singapore, Lebanon, Jordan, Israel, Australia, Canada, the United States of America, Chile; as well as other new variants in South Africa and Nigeria.

The Supreme Decree was signed by the President of the Republic Francisco Sagasti, Prime Minister Violeta Bermudez, as well as Ministers Pilar Mazzetti (Health) and Jose Elice (Interior).


Published: 1/1/2021
Most read