Peru: Curfew starting time moved to 9:00 p.m., except in eight regions

14:27 | Lima, May. 22.

Peruvian President Martin Vizcarra on Friday announced that mandatory social immobilization will run from 9:00 p.m. and 4:00 a.m. starting May 25 —within the framework of the state of emergency extended until June 30.

According to the Head of State, the new schedule will apply in most regions, 
except in eight of them, where it will be from 6:00 p.m. to 4:00 a.m.

The latter include Tumbes, Piura, Lambayeque, La Libertad, Loreto, Ucayali, Ica, and three provinces on the coast of Ancash: Santa, Casma, and Huarmey, he detailed.

These jurisdictions have a different treatment due to the number of covid-19 cases that they register to date.

The new schedules seek that citizens have more time during the day to carry out their activities.

On this occasion, the President was joined by members of the Council of Ministers. The event was held at the Government Palace in Lima.

Friday marks the sixty-eighth day of mandatory social isolation.


Published: 5/22/2020