Six South American nations issue joint statement on Nicaragua's situation

Photo: EFE

Photo: EFE

13:29 | Lima, Apr. 23.

The Governments of Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Paraguay, and Peru express concern over and deplore the violent acts that erupted in Nicaragua over recent days, Peru's Foreign Affairs Ministry informed Monday.

As is known, said violence has caused numerous fatalities and injuries in the Central American nation.

In a joint statement released on Sunday, the aforementioned governments conveyed their condolences and solidarity to the victims and their families.

They also urged all sectors to stop confrontation and acts of force.

In particular, they call on security forces to exercise their power more prudently in order to avoid excessive force and an escalation in the crisis, thus creating a climate that restores both peace and dialogue, which are key to overcoming such critical situation.


Published: 4/23/2018
Most read