Peru: Sagasti sworn in as Parliament Chairman, to become President of Republic

Photo: Congress of the Republic of Peru

16:37 | Lima, Nov. 16.

Congressman Francisco Sagasti Hochhausler was sworn in as the new head of Parliament on Monday afternoon, after winning the election for the Board of Congress.

At a Parliament plenary session, Mirtha Vasquez was also chosen to become Vice Chairwoman, as were Luis Roel (Second Vice Chairman), and Matilde Fernandez (Third Vice Chairwoman).

The list received 97 votes in favor, 26 against and, 0 abstentions.

Francisco Rafael Sagasti Hochhausler will become the next President of the Republic, thus replacing resigning Manuel Merino, who stepped down last Sunday —after less than one week in office and amid protests.

Sagasti Hochhausler is an industrial engineer, researcher, author of several books, and has served as a university professor.

He was born in Lima on October 10, 1944, and is 76 years old.

In March 2020, he assumed the post of Congressman of the Republic representing Lima with the Purple Party for the 2020-2021 term.

Previously, he held various positions in the public sector and also in multilateral organizations such as the World Bank.


Published: 11/16/2020
Most read