Peru: Jorge Muñoz officially becomes Lima's new mayor

18:26 | Lima, Jan. 2.

Jorge Muñoz on Wednesday was sworn in as the new mayor of Peruvian capital Lima for the 2019-2022 term.

Muñoz succeeds Luis Castañeda Lossio, whose 4-year-term ended on December 31, 2018. 

The Accion Popular party's candidate defeated his opponents in an October 7 mayoral race, thus becoming the capital city's new mayor.

At that time, over 23 million voters turned out to the polls to take part in regional and local elections across the Inca country.

The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Magic Water Circuit facilities, in the presence of high-ranking authorities and representatives of all three branches of government, including President Martin Vizcarra.

About Jorge Muñoz

Jorge Vicente Martin Muñoz Wells —the son of Julio Muñoz Valdivieso and Molly Wells Leguia— was born in Lima's Miraflores district on April 12, 1962.

He attended Nuestra Señora del Carmen (Carmelitas) School in the same neighborhood between 1968 and 1979.

The new capital city's leader joined Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Peru (PUCP) Law School in 1980 and graduated in 1986.

Additionally, he received a master's degree in land use planning and management from Universidad de Barcelona.

After that, he joined Fernando Andrade's administration in Miraflores as part of Somos Lima party —renamed Somos Peru— for the 1996-1998 term.

Muñoz also served as a councilman in the aforementioned locality between 1999 and 2002.

Later, he ran for mayor of the same district under the Somos Peru banner in 2010 and won. He was re-elected in 2014.

By the end of 2015, while in office, he quit Somos Peru —the political party where he had served for almost 20 years.

He has dedicated his career to politics and public management while serving as mayor of Miraflores district.

In 2017, the 56-year old lawyer joined Accion Popular as a pre-mayoral candidate for Lima. 

In 2018, he won the party's primary for mayor.

Finally, he was the winner of the last mayoral election in Lima, followed by Daniel Urresti and Renzo Reggiardo, who came second and third, respectively.


Published: 1/2/2019
Most read