Peru envoy elected as new ILO Governing Body chairperson

12:43 | Geneva (Switzerland), Jun. 14.

The Governing Body of the International Labour Organization (ILO) has unanimously elected Ambassador Claudio de la Puente Ribeyro, Permanent Representative of Peru to the international organizations in Geneva, as the new Chairperson of the body for 2018-19.

This appointment is especially important given the proximity of ILO's centenary celebrations, in 2019, when the Peruvian representative will be leading the Governing Body.

This is the second time a Peruvian envoy takes on this important responsibility since 1948.

Supported by the Latin American group, the nomination received the subsequent endorsement of the Governments, Employers, and Workers' groups.

De la Puente Ribeyro takes over the presidency from Luc Cortebeeck, who served as Governing Body Chairperson since June 2017.

After his appointment, the Peruvian was congratulated by the three main organs of the body and ILO Director-General Guy Ryder.

In his speech, the ambassador thanked for the confidence placed in Peru and pledged to work hard to promote transparent dialogue and reinforce trust so as to build tripartite consensus in which all members feel involved. 

The Governing Body is the executive body of the International Labour Organization (the Office is the secretariat of the Organization). 

It meets three times a year, in March, June, and November to take decisions on ILO policy, decide the agenda of the International Labour Conference, adopt the draft Programme and Budget of the Organization for submission to the Conference, and elect the Director-General.

The body is composed of 56 titular members (28 Governments, 14 Employers, and 14 Workers) and 66 deputy members (28 Governments, 19 Employers, and 19 Workers). 

Ten of the titular government seats are permanently held by States of chief industrial importance (Brazil, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States). 

The other Government members are elected by the Conference every three years (the last elections were held in June 2014). The Employer and Worker members are elected in their individual capacity.


Published: 6/14/2018
Most read