Peru assumes Andean Parliament Presidency

12:49 | Bogota (Colombia), Aug. 20.

Peru has assumed the presidency of the Andean Parliament for the 2019-2020 period after the country's representative Rolando Sousa was unanimously elected by the regional body.

After swearing in, the lawmaker announced he will focus his work on regional integration. 

In this sense, he proposed the creation of strategic alliances with institutions that are close to the citizens, such as regional and local governments, as well as municipalities. 

Likewise, German Dario (Colombia), Fausto Cobo (Ecuador), Alberto Moreno (Bolivia), and Gabriel Asencio (Chile) swore in as vice-presidents. 


The Andean Parliament supports the governments of member countries in the harmonization of laws, as well as in the regionalization of public policies and successful government practices that contribute to improving the quality of life and well-being of the Andean population.

Furthermore, it aims to strengthen the Andean Integration Process through the construction of Andean citizenship and the promotion of citizen participation.


Published: 8/20/2019
Most read