Peru's Judiciary issues arrest warrant against ex-President Toledo

Alejandro Toledo. Foto: ANDINA/Carlos Lezama

22:17 | Lima, Feb. 9.

The Judicial Branch has just ordered the 18-month preventive detention of ex-President Alejandro Toledo (2001-2006) on influence peddling and asset laundering charges, within the framework of the Odebrecht case.

Judge Richard Concepcion Carhuancho also issued an arrest warrant against the former Head of State, both at national and international levels.

As is known, Toledo has been accused of receiving bribes from corruption-tainted Odebrecht, local media reported last week.

A public hearing to rule on the Public Ministry's preventive detention request started on Thursday morning at Peru's National Criminal Court.

It was attended by Anticorruption Prosecutor Hamilton Castro, who is in charge of the investigation; as well as lawyers Paolo Aldea and Heriberto Benitez, Toledo's legal defense.

The said request was submitted by the Public Ministry-Prosecutor's Office on Tuesday afternoon. The institution asked that Toledo be placed under preventive detention for an 18-month period on bribery charges.

Toledo would have received US$20 million from the Brazilian conglomerate to secure the Inter-Oceanic Highway contract, a source revealed during plea-bargain talks.

Money laundering investigations also involve Toledo's friend Israeli citizen Josef Maiman, as well as former Odebrecht Executive Director Jorge Barata.

Banking information from Panama- and Costa Rica-based financial institutions, as well as the United States Justice Department, back said allegations.

Toledo is currently overseas with wife Eliane Karp.

Last Saturday, his home was raided by police and prosecutors investigating the Odebrecht case.


The Brazilian construction giant admitted to having paid US$29 million in bribes to government officials in Peru, in order to secure public-works contracts.

As a result, Odebrecht benefited from over US$143 million between 2005 and 2014 in Peru, according to the U.S. Justice Department. 

The period in question spans over three previous presidencies: Alejandro Toledo (2001-2006), Alan Garcia (2006-2011) and Ollanta Humala (2011-2016).


Published: 2/9/2017