Peru officially becomes UN Security Council member

Consejo de Seguridad de las Naciones Unidas

Consejo de Seguridad de las Naciones Unidas

12:13 | New York (U.S.), Jan. 1.

Peru on Monday officially began its two-year term as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council, with the intention of defending solutions to promote "huge consensus."

Together with Peru, the other nations joining the UN's highest decision-making body are: Equatorial Guinea, Cote d'Ivoire, Kuwait, Poland, and the Netherlands.

Besides them, Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, and Sweden continue as non-permanent members in 2018, whereas the five powers with permanent seats are: the United States, China, France, the United Kingdom, and Russia.

Peru was elected last June with the support of 186 —out of 193— of the United Nations' member states in an election held at the General Assembly.

Led by Ambassador Gustavo Meza-Cuadra, the Peruvian delegation —starting today— holds the position previously held by Uruguay for two years.

Peru was a non-permanent member of the Security Council between 1955 and 1956, as well as in the 2006-2007 period.

The United Nations' highest decision-making body, whose main mandate is to maintain peace and security in the world, has several complex crises to face such as that of North Korea, the wars in Syria and Yemen, as well as conflicts in several Africans nations, such as South Sudan, Mali, and the Central African Republic.


Published: 1/1/2018
Most read