Peru: Gov't expands quarantine to provinces in Cajamarca and Cusco

Jaen Province. Photo: Andina

Jaen Province. Photo: Andina

11:51 | Lima, Jul. 26.

Peru's Executive Branch has approved Supreme Decree 129-2020-PCM, which extends —starting today, July 26— the country's localized quarantine to three provinces in Cajamarca region and one province in Cusco region.

The provinces where said measure is being introduced are Cajamarca, Jaen, and San Ignacio (Cajamarca), as well as La Convencion (Cusco).

According to the decree, published on Saturday in El Peruano official gazette, in those places, residents are allowed to leave their homes only to have access to essential services and goods and to carry out authorized economic activities.

Thus, these provinces will be under mandatory social isolation (quarantine), and compulsory social immobilization will run from 8:00 p.m. to 4:00 a.m. Mondays thru Saturdays. Compulsory social immobilization will be in force all day on Sundays.

It must be noted that the same restrictions apply to the regions of Arequipa, Ica, Junin, Huanuco, San Martin, Madre de Dios, and Ancash, which have registered increase in COVID-19 cases.


Published: 7/26/2020
Most read