Peru: Gov't suspends entry of foreigners from Europe, South Africa thru Jan 31

Photo: ANDINA/Ministry of Health of Peru

Photo: ANDINA/Ministry of Health of Peru

12:00 | Lima, Jan. 15.

The Peruvian Government on Friday ordered the suspension —from January 15 to 31— of entry into the national territory of non-resident foreigners from Europe or South Africa —or those who have made a stopover in any of said places in the last 14 calendar days.

Via Supreme Decree 004-2021-PCM, published in the Official Gazette El Peruano, details and modifications are established for the measures implemented against the COVID-19 pandemic.

According to Supreme Decree 207-2020-PCM, the crew members of air, land, sea, river, and lake transportation means are excluded from the mandatory 14-day quarantine; as well as special missions (political, diplomatic, medical, police, and personnel deployed by other States or international organizations to provide humanitarian aid or international cooperation).

In addition, institutions or companies that require the services of foreign workers, must communicate —72 hours in advance— the list of people who will enter the country to the Directorate of International Health.

In this sense, they will be responsible for the daily monitoring of any COVID-19 symptoms of their visiting workers and notify them to the health authority.

The same counts for those who arrive in the country to make international or domestic connections —within 16 hours of arrival— and it has been decided that "they must not leave the connection area of the airport."


In the case of quarantine, it establishes that Peruvians, resident foreigners, and non-resident foreigners will quarantine at their homes or in lodging facilities, prior coordination with the health authority.

Each person, whose test result is positive upon arrival at an entry point, must comply with mandatory isolation for 14 calendar days at the Pan American Village, a temporary isolation center in the city of Lima, or in the facilities that regional governments host in their jurisdiction.

On the other hand, the regulation points out that the quarantine measure may end before 14 calendar days "if a person has a negative molecular test result, whose sample was obtained six days after entering the country."


Published: 1/15/2021
Most read