Peruvian President meets OECD secretary general in Mexico

Peruvian President Ollanta Humala meets OECD Secretary General Angel Gurria.

10:41 | Lima, Jun. 20.

Peruvian President Ollanta Humala today held talks with the Secretary General of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Angel Gurria,within the framework of the 9th Pacific Alliance Summit being held in Nayarit, Mexico.
According to Peru’s Press Secretary, this is an important meeting, in which the Peruvian head of sate will endorse the country's bid to become a member of the OECD, organization of economic cooperation between developed countries that opened up to developing countries some years ago. 

Attending the meeting were the Andean nation's Foreign Minister Eda Rivas and the Minister of Foreign Trade and Tourism Magali Silva.

The dialogue was held at facilities of the Four Season Resort in Punta Mita, Mexico.

The OECD aims to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world and provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. 

In 1960, 18 European countries plus the United States and Canada joined forces to create an organization dedicated to global development. Today, its 34 member countries span the globe, from North and South America to Europe and the Asia-Pacific region. 

They include many of the world’s most advanced countries but also emerging countries like Mexico, Chile and Turkey. 

The bloc also works closely with emerging giants like China, India and Brazil and developing economies in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean. Together, their goal continues to be to build a stronger, cleaner, fairer world.

In May 2007, OECD countries agreed to invite Chile, Estonia, Israel, Russia and Slovenia to open discussions for membership of the Organization and offered a program of "enhanced engagement" to Brazil, China, India, Indonesia and South Africa.

Chile became a member of the Organization on 7 May 2010, Slovenia became a member on 21 July 2010 and Israel became a member on 7 September 2010. On December 9 2010, Estonia became a member, once necessary formalities, including parliamentary approval, were completed.


Published: 6/20/2014