European Parliament votes to add Peru to visa-free list

European Parliament. Photo: ANDINA/Prensa Presidencia

European Parliament. Photo: ANDINA/Prensa Presidencia

15:50 | Lima, oct. 21 (ANDINA).

The European Parliament's (EP) Civil Liberties Committee approved on Monday removing the Schengen visa requirements for all citizens from Peru and Colombia, adding these countries to the visa-free list for short stays of up to 90 days.
The exemption proposal stressed the two Latin American countries fulfill all the requirements referred in the Schengen area's community legislation.

Likewise, the statement noted these nations have Free Trade Agreements (FTAs) currently in force with the European Union (EU).

Peru-Colombia inclusion on the list of countries whose nationals are exempt from the Schengen visa requirements was approved by 51 Members of the EP, while 2 voted against and 2 abstained.

This measure constitutes a first step for Peruvian and Colombian citizens to be able to enjoy visa-exemption privileges in the EU by traveling freely throughout the 26 Schengen states.

Spain formally requested last September to lift short-stay visa requirements for Peru and Colombia. It was a matter of highest priority for the Mariano Rajoy's government as these countries are its main trading partners in Latin America.  

Thus, the visa-waiver agreement for the Andean country and Colombia needs to be analized by the European Commission for being later ratified by the European Parliament's plenary. 

The Schengen area is make up of Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Monaco, Germany, Greece and Hungary. 

Likewise Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland are part of this bloc.


Published: 10/21/2013