Peru: President leads National Environmental Award prize-giving ceremony

Photo: ANDINA/Presidency of the Republic

Photo: ANDINA/Presidency of the Republic

10:45 | Lima, May. 16.

In an effort to recognize the most outstanding and successful environmental practices in the country, the President of the Republic Pedro Castillo on Monday led the prize-giving ceremony for the Antonio Brack Egg National Environmental Award, which recognizes individuals, organizations, and enterprises.

The ceremony took place at the Government Palace in Lima.

This prize is the highest recognition bestowed by the Peruvian State for contributions to environmental protection, sustainable management of natural resources, and contributions to a culture of environmental responsibility across the country.

Since its creation, in 2014, more than 2,000 initiatives have been presented and 130 awards have been granted. 

In addition to the main award, 57 honorable mentions have been conferred.

Prize-giving ceremony

During the ceremony, the Head of State was accompanied by Environment Minister Modesto Montoya, Production Minister Jorge Luis Prado, and representatives of the participating companies, institutions and associations.

This Peruvian Independence Bicentennial commemorative edition included 15 winning experiences and 12 honorable mentions.

The winners of the Environmental Knowledge category include the Metropolitan Municipality of Lima, the Pichanaqui District Municipality in Chanchamayo (Junin region), the company Diaz de Cerio, and the Association of Agricultural Science and Innovation of the Northern Network - Agrored Norte based in Pacaipampa district, in the Ayabaca province of Piura region.

The Jesus Maria District Municipality, the Municipality of Santa Maria del Mar, the company Fomento Obras y Contratas and the Barranco District Municipality won in the Clean Peru category. 

The Natural Peru category recognized the contributions made by the companies Emprendimientos Ecologicos Misha Rastrera, Microsol Peru in Trujillo, and Pie verde AQP, as well as by the Peruvian Beaches Ecological Organization – ECOPLAYAS and the Regional Government of La Libertad.

The special category, which includes mentions of young environmentalists of the Bicentennial, recognizes the student cooperative bank "Bartselana" based in Arequipa. The award was accepted by Jose Quisocala, whose idea of founding the first sustainable bank for children in said city came up when he was only 7 years old.

The winners of the Inclusive Peru category include the Arequipa-based association Recyclers Without Borders. Afterwards, honorable mentions were awarded to another group of participants.


Published: 5/16/2022
Most read