Peru: Government decrees quarantine focused on 5 regions and 34 provinces

17:36 | Lima, Aug. 12.

President Martin Vizcarra on Wednesday reported that the Council of Ministers approved a Supreme Decree which declares quarantine entirely focused on five (5) regions of the country: Arequipa, Ica, Huanuco, Junin and San Martín, as well as on 34 provinces, due to an increase in the level of COVID-19 contagion.

The Head of State indicated that said measure was taken based on the information provided by Health Ministry scientists and medical personnel in charge of monitoring the development of the pandemic nationwide.

The top official specified that 5 regions and 34 provinces are incorporated into the quarantined areas. 


-Arequipa region
-Ica region
-Huanuco region
-Junin region
-San Martin region


-Tambopata and Iberia district (Madre de Dios region)
-Pasco (Pasco region)
-Huamanga and Huanta (Ayacucho region)
-Santa, Casma and Huaraz (Ancash region)
-Mariscal Nieto and Ilo (Moquegua region)
-Tacna (Tacna region)
-Cusco and La Convencion (Cusco region)
-Puno and San Roman (Puno region)
-Cajamarca, Jaen and San Ignacio (Cajamarca region)
-Bagua, Condorcanqui and Utcubamba (Amazonas region)
-Abancay and Andahuaylas (Apurimac region)
-Barranca, Huaura, Cañete and Huaral (Lima region)
-Viru, Pacasmayo, Chepen and Ascope (La Libertad region)
-Huancavelica, Angaraes and Tayacaja (Huancavelica region).

Remarks were made in a televised address to the nation from the Government Palace in Lima. President Vizcarra was joined by State ministers on the occasion.


Publicado: 12/8/2020