Brazil's Flamengo becomes Copa Libertadores Champion in Peru (Full story)

17:46 | Lima, Nov. 23.

Brazilian soccer club Flamengo has become the Copa Libertadores champion after defeating its Argentinean counterpart River Plate 2-1 in a heart-stopping final match Saturday afternoon in Lima (Peru).

Held at Ate Monumental Stadium, the game kicked off at 3:00 PM (local time) amid a fevered atmosphere and passionate support from fans of both sides.

Rafael Santos Borre scored in the 14th minute, giving River Plate a first-half lead against Flamengo.

However, Mengao leveled the score and then took the lead with two late strikes (89th; 92nd minute) by Gabriel 'Gabigol' Barbosa, which won Flamengo its second ever Copa Libertadores.


Flamengo: Diego Alves; Rafinha, Pablo Mari, Rodrigo Caio, Filipe Luis; Willian Arao, Gerson – Giorgian De Arrascaeta, Everton Ribeiro, Bruno Henrique; Gabriel Barbosa (red card). Coach: Jorge Jesus. 

River Plate: Franco Armani; Gonzalo Montiel, Lucas Martinez Quarta, Javier Pinola, Milton Casco; Enzo Perez, Exequiel Palacios (red card), Ignacio Fernandez, Nicolas de la Cruz; Rafael Santos Borre; Matias Suarez. Coach: Marcelo Gallardo.

Copa Libertadores final

This is the first one-game final in 60 years of Conmebol history, and the second time the Copa Libertadores top match has to move from one place to another.

In 2018, South America's biggest soccer match moved to Madrid (Spain) after the occurrence of severe incidents near River Plate's Monumental Stadium in Buenos Aires for the second leg of a final, following a 2-2 draw with fierce rivals Boca Juniors in the first leg at La Bombonera.


Publicado: 23/11/2019