Peru: Competitors have tough times in stage 3 of Dakar Rally

17:32 | Arequipa (Arequipa region), Jan. 9.

2019 Dakar Rally competitors tackled a hard stage 3 including tough dunes and complex navigation as they raced from San Juan de Marcona to Arequipa.

Arequipa, the second most populous city in Peru, lies at the foot of the Misti volcano and, although today's special took place somewhere else, the Dakar saw an eruption turn the various classifications on their heads. 

Today, the competitors raced far to the north, in the Duna Grande and Duna Argentina areas near San Juan de Marcona, before moving higher (2,000 masl) in the Cobrepampa region, where fiendish navigation put paid to the hopes of Joan Barreda

Later on, sections of fesh-fesh put handling skills to the test in the third part of the stage, which alternated between fast stretches and the Acari dunes.

Stage 3 results:


Xavier de Soultrait shone in a special that stymied several favorites to claim his first Dakar stage win. 

The Yamaha rider took the third special of the rally with 15 seconds to spare over Pablo Quintanilla.

The overall lead, however, will go to the Chilean rider this evening.

"It was a hard stage because the fog reduced visibility to under two meters. I've started the rally cautiously, as planned, and today I won the stage. It's awesome. It was the first stage with serious navigation, the real rally has begun," he said.

"Tomorrow comes the marathon stage. I'll be opening the road, it won't be easy. I want to make it to the rest day in top shape," De Soultrait continued.


Jeremias Gonzalez Ferioli had to bring his A game to end the domination of fellow Argentinian Nicolas Cavigliasso in this year's Dakar. 

The young rider rolled into Arequipa with 1'44" to spare at the end of a closely fought special, while Gustavo Gallego lost 10'50".


Stephane Peterhansel is the winner of stage 3. The Mini driver put in a flawless performance and left all his rivals in the dust, except for Nasser Al-Attiyah, who is the new leader of the race after conceding just 3'26".


Gerrard Farres took his first stage win as an SxS driver, taking over the lead halfway through the stage and beating Francisco "Chaleco" Lopez by 2'03" at the finish. 

The Chilean is the new overall leader, while Sergei Kariakin finished third on the day.


Andrey Karginov got back to his winning ways in the Dakar, putting almost 12 minutes into Federico Villagra to clinch an impressive victory in Arequipa. 

The 2014 champion, driving for Kamaz, made the difference in the toughest part of the special and posted the fastest time at CP2, 7'20" ahead of Villagra. 

Third-placed Dmitry Sotnikov came ahead of overall leader Eduard Nikolaev, who lost 14 minutes.


Published: 1/9/2019
Most read